Toggle Menu
Distinguish Alumni Award Recepient
Navigate This Section

Distinguished Alumnus Award

2015 Distinguished Alumnus Award
Daniel A. Cotter ’88

Daniel Cotter’s exceptional character and achievements are actively demonstrated in all aspects of his personal life as a devoted father, husband and family member; in his professional life as vice president, general counsel and secretary of Fidelity Life Association; in all areas of civic, cultural and charitable involvement, including more than 500 hours per year of community and board service, in addition to serving as 2014-2015 president of the Chicago Bar Association.

His passion for education and mentoring has helped thousands of inner-city students as well as countless law students and Monmouth College alumni.

Cotter is immediate past chair of the Lawyers Lend-A-Hand to Youth Program, president of the Chicago Bar Association, former chair (for seven years) and vice chair of Edgebrook Public School LSC and first vice president of the John Marshall Law School Alumni Association.

His career in law has been long and distinguished. In addition to his current professional position, he held leadership posts in recent years with the firms of Korey Cotter Heather & Richardson LLC, Lindemann LLC, and Argo Group US, Inc. As president of the Chicago Bar Association, he led the 22,000-member organization in every aspect. He serves on the board of the Chicago Bar Foundation, is a volunteer for The Law Project, and writes a column for the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin.

Other professional organizations to which Cotter has lent his talents include the Association of Insurance Compliance Professionals, the Alliant Credit Union Advisory Board and the Metropolitan Bar Caucus.
As an alumnus of John Marshall Law School, he is active on its alumni association board, its board of visitors, its mentor program and as an adjunct professor. He has also been generous to his alma mater, serving on Monmouth College’s Board of Trustees since 2009, as chair of the Chicagoland Alumni Chapter, as a coach and judge for Monmouth’s moot court competition, and as a significant donor and recruiter of students.

Cotter’s extensive community involvement activities include service on the Edgebrook Public School Council, the Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago, Lawyers Lend-A-Hand To Youth, and Boy Scouts of America.

Submit a nomination for this award.

Monmouth College Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipients:
2015 Daniel A. Cotter ’88
2014 Bradley Nahrstadt '89
2013 Karen Barrett Chism ’65
2012 David J. Shawver ’70
2011 Jackie R. Bell Zachmeyer ’89
2010 Lon J. Helton ’72
2009 Key P. Yang ’50
2008 J. Rodney Lemon ’63
2007 Dr. Frederick J. Kaskel ’67
2006 Walter S. Huff, Jr. ’56
2005 Richard P. Wherry ’60
2004 Robert A. Wetzel ’59
2003 Dennis J. Lachel ’61
2002 William J. Goldsborough ’65
2001 Robert J. Ardell ’62
2000 Roger W. Rasmusen ’56
1999 Dr. Stanley E. Chism ’63
1998 Joan R. Rezner Gundersen ’68
Capt. Robert C. Mabry, Jr. ’70
1997 William J. Winslade ’63
1996 John S. Niblock ’58
1995 Dr. Richard K. Fuller ’57
Lothar Huehne ’54
1994 Hailu Sebsibe ’52
1993 Walter J. Nicol ’41
1992 Matilda Giannone Cerpa ’42
John H. Wagenknecht ’60
1991 C. Edward Greene ’72
Glen L. Pickens ’25
1990 Larry E. Millikan ’58
Rev. Dr. Roderic L. Smith ’23
1989 Jack C. Jaquet ’47
Maj. Gen. Philip G. Killey, Jr. ’63
1988 Susan Cheng ’34
Rev. Dale K. Milligan ’48
1987 Rev. Howard M. Jamieson, Jr. ’40
William G. Kuntz ’49
1986 Dr. Timothy G. Lee ’61
H. Betty Weiss Oberstar ’43
1984 Karin E. Loya ’63
Hon. Robert W. Porter ’49
1983 Rev. Robert H. Meneilly ’45
Minna M. Fricke Work ’33
1982 Frances A. Brent Killey ’32
Ruth E. Okey ’14
1981 Robert V. Cramer ’54
Marilynn K. Hofstetter ’49
1979 Dr. Roger Henderson ’29
W. Ernest Schlaretzki ’41
David Turnbull ’36
1978 Harold L. Hermann ’27
Hon. James C. Hornaday ’61
Eugene K. Lau ’28
1977 Robert J. Clendenin ’26
Dr. James W. Marshall ’36
Vice Adm. James B. Stockdale ’46
1975 J. Allan Johnson ’56
1974 Clayton V. Taylor ’26
1973 Hazel F. Stewart Alberson ’17
1972 Raymond C. Grills ’37
1971 Charles A. Owen, Jr. ’36
1970 William M. LeSuer ’42
1969 Charles R. Russell ’40
1968 Cliff S. Hamilton ’12
1967 Lucile Meloy Ady ’17
Rev. Merrill S. Ady ’20
1966 Clair S. Boruff ’23
Thomas C. Robinson ’33
1964 E. Irene Diggs ’27
Calvin B. Hoover ’22
1963 Dinsmore Alter ’08
Mary E. Graham Feustel ’22
Blake S. Root ’27
Helen L. Wagner Willey ’38
1962 Charles Butler ’29
George H. Lesch ’31
Herbert C. Merillat ’35
Lyman B. Sutter ’27
1961 Myron H. Bengson ’47
1960 Robert C. Dunbar ’99
S. Wirt Wiley ’01
Newton K. Wilson ’29
1959 Dorothy Walker Blair ’41
Robert L. Blair ’39
Rev. John W. Findley ’97
Jean Liedman ’27
1958 Helen Beveridge Brennan ’29
Dwight Eckerman ’21
Margretta J. Gardiner McConnell ’16
Gladys E. Whitmore ’24
1957 Edward L. Bencini ’30
Helen W. Hartsock ’14
Leland P. Johnson ’32
Will F. Kissick ’25
Margaret Miles ’30
Frederick O. Steadry ’31
1956 Robert E. Acheson ’28
Henry Driemeyer ’06
Hortense Hood ’22
Brig. Gen. Howard E. Reed ’20
Robert C. Ross ’14
Samuel M. Thompson ’24
1955 Dr. Charles P. Blair ’05
John Marshall Briley ’27
Sarah Norcross Jones ’94
William S. McClanahan ’29
Dr. McKinnie L. Phelps ’29
Thomas M. White ’16
1954 Dr. J. Roy Doty ’27
Dr. Ralph Graham, Sr. ’97
Graham W. McMillan ’37
R. J. Riddell ’15
Agnes Sherrick Turnbull ’08
H. Donald Winbigler ’31