Toggle Menu
Distinguished Service Award Recepient
Image of Stevie Croisant

Student Scotlights:
Stevie Croisant '14

Stevie Croisant heard of Monmouth when she was still in high school from a current student and she knew she had to check out MC. more

GO TO...

Distinguished Service Award

2014 Distinguished Service Award
Don Gladfelter '77

Gladfelter served as Monmouth’s vice president for finance and business for 36 years, 32 of them as its chief financial officer. He began working as an assistant in the business office while still a student and was appointed controller nine months after graduation. During his tenure, Gladfelter presided over an endowment that grew from less than $4 million to more than $80 million. He was also the driving force behind the successful completion of campus construction projects totaling more than $120 million.

Considered a trusted sounding board and astute advisor by senior leadership, Gladfelter “demonstrated remarkable dedication to Monmouth over his tenure, and the college is better for having benefited from his services as a forward-thinking CFO,” said chairman of the board Bill Goldsborough during the ceremony. “Don’s diverse combination of management skills allowed him to not only head the business office, supervise the physical plant, and manage the college’s investments, but he also had the challenging job of overseeing the office of financial aid.”

Monmouth College Distinguished Service Award Recipients:
2014 Don Gladfelter ’77
2013 Kevin S. Kaihara ’77
2012 Dean St. Ledger
2011 Hon. Daniel S. Weber ’74
2010 Michael E. Sproston ’64
2009 William J. Goldsborough ’65
2008 David C. Allison ’53
2007 Virgil S. Boucher ’32
2006 Frederick W. Wackerle ’61
2005 Bonnie Bondurant Shaddock ’54
2004 Nancy Speer Engquist ’74
2003 David A. Bowers ’60
Frank W. Sorensen
2002 Elizabeth F. Peacock
H. Safford Peacock
2001 Isabel Bickett Marshall ’36
2000 George E. Trotter, Jr. ’47
Maxine Murdy Trotter ’47
1999 R. Jeremy McNamara
1998 Mary Ann Galusha Eiserman ’72
1997 Charles J. Speel II
1996 Robert H. Buchholz
Frank W. Lee, III ’69
Margaret A. Will Lee ’71
1995 Ernest Crow , Jr. ’41
Rev. J. Stafford Weeks
1994 Bruce Haywood
John J. Ketterer
1993 Dorothy Eyler Arthur ’48
Ralph E. Stephenson ’58
1992 Dr. James W. Marshall ’36
Clarence P. Patterson ’35
1991 Margaret Miles ’30
1990 Sarah A. Ryder ’38
1988 Alice M. Martin ’31
1987 Stephen W. Graham, Jr.
1986 Mary Jane Tippett
1985 Elwood H. Ball
1984 Jean A. Frans Hogue ’30
Katina R. Harper Truman ’77
1983 Heimo A. Loya ’38
Lyman O. Williams
1982 Ralph E. Whiteman ’52
1981 William M. LeSuer ’42
1980 Catherine Freed
DeBow Freed
1979 Eva H. Cleland
Samuel M. Thompson ’24
1978 Adele Kennedy
1977 Peter H. Bunce
Lee L. Morgan
Glen D. Rankin ’43
Mildred M. Saville ’28
1976 Mary S. Bartling Crow ’41
Eileen Sandberg Loya ’40
1975 Cmdr. Gilbert E. Boone
Katherine Phelps Boone ’30
1974 Benjamin T. Shawver
1973 Kenneth Geiger ’53
1972 Sigmund Kunstadter
1971 David D. Fleming ’46
1970 Duncan Wimpress
1969 Roger J. Fritz ’50
1968 Cyrus R. Osborn
1967 Evelyn M. Peters Kyle ’32
Fielding A. Smith ’25
1964 N. Barr Miller ’28
1961 Hugh R. Beveridge ’23
1960 Dr. Rollin S. Moore ’31
Robert T. Rawson ’42
1958 William K. Addleman ’36
Carl S. Easdale
Elizabeth Dierstein Lashly ’24
Leroy Pierce ’14
Dorothy Austin Prugh ’13
Thomas Prugh ’12
Ivory Quinby ’19
W. Frank Rosell ’12
Chalmer Spiker
Ralph Stephenson, Sr.
Elizabeth Farrell Zumstein ’25
1957 Louise Reid Campbell ’07
James C. Foster ’14
Thomas H. Hamilton ’07
Mary E. McCoy ’13
Robert T. McLoskey ’28
Wendell F. Whiteman ’27
1956 Morris Beabout
Harold Blair ’25
Kenneth Craig
Janet E. Ritchey Palmer ’35
Grace Gawthrop Peterson ’22
Harry W. Rhea ’55
John W. Service ’35
1955 Dr. O. E. Sterett
Keith L. Trevor
1954 Robert Albert
Fred B. Pattee
Glen Soule
1953 Max R. Armstrong ’41
William T. Axline ’21
Bruce B. Barr ’28
Algot J. Bowman
Mabel M. Bowman ’25
George H. Bruington
Howard W. Bryant
Thomas Wiley Clark ’27
Paul M. Crafton
Emory B. Davis
David D. Edwards
Victor C. Engdahl
George Gardner ’26
Ernest Johnson
John J. Kritzer ’13
William McKnight ’34
Robert S. Moore ’38
Thomas E. Moore
Gale L. Parrish ’51
Gail Reynolds ’42
James Sanderson ’26
George H. Thorbeck
Donald B. Walker
Paul E. Warfield ’24
Russell White