Toggle Menu
Hall of Achievement Award Recepient
Navigate This Section

Hall of Achievement

2015 Hall of Achievement Award
Major General John Huston '48

Before he was Major General John Huston, and before he was a Monmouth College student, Huston enlisted in the Army Air Corps at the age of 17. While a student at Monmouth majoring in history and French, he entered flight training, graduating with a commission as a second lieutenant in 1944. Later that year, he joined the 379th Bombardment Group in the European theater and flew 30 combat missions in B-17 aircraft.

Since entering reserve status in 1945, Gen. Huston had been active in the Air Force Reserve program, commencing with the 375th Troop Carrier Wing at Greater Pittsburgh Airport where he served from 1947 to 1957 as squadron navigator, operations and training officer, and wing administrative officer. While in Pennsylvania, he completed his master’s degree and his Ph.D. in history from the University of Pittsburgh. Huston also served with the reserves in Maryland, in Washington, D.C., in Denver Colo., where he became the first chairman of the Air Force Reserve Policy Council of the Air Reserve Personnel, and in Virginia. Huston was recalled to active duty July 12, 1976, to become the chief of the Office of Air Force History.

Gen. Huston served as visiting professor at the University of Pittsburgh, the University of Rochester, Ball State University and the University of Maryland. He served on the faculty of the U.S. Naval Academy from 1956 to 1976, the last five years as chairman of the history department. In 1981, he retired from the Air Force, but remained a historian at the United States Naval Academy until 1994.

The general's awards and decorations include the Distinguished Flying Cross with oak leaf cluster, Air Medal with three oak leaf clusters, Joint Service Commendation Medal and the Air Force Commendation Medal. He holds the aeronautical rating of navigator.

Karen Bush Watts '65

After receiving her bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Monmouth in 1965, Karen Bush Watts earned her doctorate in biochemistry from Indiana University. Following postdoctoral work at the University of California-Santa Barbara and the University of North Carolina, she joined the Squibb Institute for Medical Research in New Jersey, where she began studying beta-lactamases, the enzymes in pathogenic bacteria that are the major cause for resistance to penicillin and other beta-lactam antibiotics.

During her career in the pharmaceutical industry (Squibb, 1973-1991; Lederle/Wyeth 1991-1996; Johnson & Johnson, 1997-2009), Bush was a member of teams that identified and/or developed the antibiotics Azactam, Zosyn, Levaquin, Doribax and the anti-MRSA cephalosporin, Zeftera. As the head of the Antimicrobial Drug Discovery Research team at Johnson & Johnson, her work involved the identification of novel inhibitors of bacterial enzyme targets and the discovery of new ketolides and novel topoisomerase inhibitors with antibacterial activity against resistant gram-positive pathogens. During her research career, she contributed to the development of eight investigational drugs that entered human clinical trials.

A Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, Bush teachesin the biotechnology program at Indiana University, serves as a consultant to several biotech companies and is on scientific advisory boards for Merck, Fedora and the TB Alliance.

Monmouth College Hall of Achievement Recipients:
2014 Dr. Tom Ulmet '64
2013 Frederick W. Wackerle ’61
2012 Datuk Dr. Md. Hamzah Bin Md. Kassim ’76
2011 Jerry Mitchell ’67
2010 Dr. Kennedy Reed ’67
2009 Joe Tait ’59
2008 Frank Fitch ’51
2007 Gerald A. Marxman
2006 Maj. Gen. Stephen T. Johnson
2005 William L. Trubeck ’68
2004 Major General Philip G. Killey, Jr. ’63
2002 Roger J. Fritz ’50
2001 Timothy G. Lee ’61
2000 James B. Stockdale ’46
1998 Stanley E. Chism ’63
Joan L. Rezner Gundersen ’68
Robert C. Mabry, Jr. ’70
1997 William J. Winslade ’63
1995 Gordon F. Huber ’43
H. Betty Oberstar ’43
K Marie Stolba ’44
Makoto Tsuda ’43
1994 Robert H. Meneilly ’45
H. Donald Winbigler ’31
1993 Kenneth E. Bailey ’52
Dean E. Fischer ’58
Patricia J. Hofstetter ’48
1992 Walter S. Huff, Jr. ’56
William M. LeSuer ’42
James L. Pate ’63
Harold A. Poling ’49
Helen Wagner Willey ’38