Toggle Menu
Young Alumnus Award Recepient
Navigate This Section

Young Alumnus Award

2015 Young Alumnus Award
Carl H. Larson ’02

After double majoring in English and communication at Monmouth College, Carl Larson was accepted into the tier-one College of Law at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign. Shortly after starting classes he was also offered a prestigious internship at the Champaign County State’s Attorney’s Office.

Larson’s internship and academic performance set the stage for him to begin a career in public service as Assistant State’s Attorney for Stephenson County after earning his J.D. degree in 2004. Shortly after assuming that position in 2005, he was appointed to lead collaborative cases with the Department of Homeland Security and the U.S. Attorney General, contributing to multiple published appellate court opinions, successfully negotiating cases and prosecuting the most challenging jury trials presented to the court. He has set himself apart though his efforts to assist persons struggling with addiction by spearheading the establishment of the county’s first drug court.

Larson’s service extends beyond his professional abilities. He is active in civic service and charitable outreach, including providing pro bono legal representation for adopted children, organizing and presenting public lectures on identity theft and the financial exploitation of the elderly, and serving as a board member for the Assault and Abuse Services Counsel and the Northern Illinois Community Action Agency, both of which serve and coordinate local charitable organizations. He also serves on the board of directors of his local Kiwanis Club.

Submit a nomination for this award.

Monmouth College Young Alumnus Award Recipients:
2015 Carl H. Larson ’02
2014 Benjamin Bingle '02
2013 Zachary D. Hampson ’03
2012 Joanna Davison Triebel ’99
2011 Alex J. Melvin ’05
2010 Robert T. Grimm, Jr. ’96
2009 Eric S. Hanson ’98
2008 Jennifer A. Goedke ’98
2007 Neil A. Dahlstrom ’98
2006 Katie Bass Loveday ’93
2005 Kunal Kapoor ’97
2004 Jon J. Kruse ’92
2003 Danielle J. Nierenberg ’95
2002 Raymond Doswell ’91
2001 Daniel A. Cotter ’88
2000 Bradley C. Nahrstadt ’89
1999 Jean Peters Witty ’88
1998 Daniel L. Keating ’83
1997 Dr. Curtis C. Farr ’88
1996 Anita S. Ridge ’88
1995 Conny Davinroy Beatty ’81
Col. Susan S. Gibson ’81
1994 Dr. Diana L. Hearne ’82
1993 Dr. Harvey L. Echols, Jr. ’81
Lt. Cmdr. Paul G. Luepke, D.D.S. ’83
1992 Dr. Thomas A. Nichol ’82
1990 Kevin Z. Truman ’78
1987 Wing H. Loke ’82
1984 Dr. E. Paul Suhs ’75
1983 James R. Coziahr ’68
1982 J. Patrick Buchen ’74
Jane Fort Edwards ’75
1981 Alan J. Landauer ’70
Rev. Monica McKig Styron ’69
1979 Michael B. Calvin ’72
David M. Hersh ’77
1978 Alan E. Marti ’64
Courtney J. Munson ’63
1977 Larry R. Dew ’66
Joan R. Rezner Gundersen ’68
1974 Elizabeth Flynn Connors ’61
Donald R. Hellison ’60
Richard A. Hessel ’65
1973 Dr. Stanley E. Chism ’63
1972 Roger W. Jaeger ’59
1971 Dean E. Welch ’59
1970 John A. Alexander ’64
1969 Beth L. McPeek ’57
Roger W. Rasmusen ’56
1968 Robert V. Cramer ’54
Alan V. Larson ’55
1967 Dean E. Fischer ’58
Dr. Thomas W. Nichol ’54
1965 James Lexvold ’55
1964 Roger J. Fritz ’50
Howard E. Gladfelter ’50
Kenneth F. Miller ’52
Frederick G. Ramback ’52
William H. Woods ’50