Toggle Menu
Navigate This Section

Highlander Leadership Awards

Nominations for the 2017 Highlander Leadership Awards are now open! Nominations are Due Friday, March 3rd, 2017 by 5:00pm via the online submission form. Please contact the Wackerle Career and Leadership Center at or 309-457-2115 with any questions.

Award Descriptions

Nominate an individual or organization today by completing the nomination form.

2016 Highlander Leadership Award Recipients

Big Red Spirit Award: Cole Downey
Good Neighbor Award: LaShawn Cargo
Student Employee of the Year: Amanda Grissom
Student Organization Service Excellence: Pain is Temporary
Student Organization Excellence: Monmouth Forensics
Student Organization Advisor Excellence: Erika Buckley
Outstanding Career Mentor: Carina Olaru
Kaleidoscope Award: Colleges Against Cancer's Relay For Life
White and Crimson Leadership Award: Amber Berge
Student Leader of the Year: Neriangela Velez

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges:
Amber Berge, Kathleen Brown, Katherine Carter, Kayla Cherry, Brad Dulee, Jessica Fox, Andrea Gasow, Mary Gonzalez, Mary Claire Griffith, Megan Horack, Brian Johnson, Dillon Lehr, Jade Luthy, Jacob Marx, Rachel Masch, Steven Murphy, Emily Olson, Barbara Pajor, Kathryn Rees, Paige Rus, David Ruud, Vickie Salyards, Emily Sheetz, Miranda Shryack, Jaire Sims, Michael Smith, Josalyn Spagnola, Neriangela Velez, Emily Watkins

Leadership Excellence:
Javier Abrego, Kayla Adams, Tyler Altfillisch, Nadia Ayala, Daisy Baeza, Abigail Baldocchi, Kayla Beadles, Tori Behm, Amber Berge, Thea Bloom, Kashawna Brantley, Margaret Brundige, Alex Calderon, Jon Calhoun, LaShawn Cargo, Marilyn Carteno, Brady Crane, Corrindia Crawford, Matt Davidson, Kallie DiTusa, Cole Downey, Samuel Dummer, Sarah Ellis, Carley Folluo, Jessica Fox, Jad Freyha, Curtis Galloway, Jack Godlewksi, Larry Haynes, Melissa Hernandez, Katherine Hinman
Morgan Holle, Katie Houston, Jessica Irons, Alex Izqurierdo, Denzel Johnson, Jasmine Johnson, Sarah Johnston, Christian Jones, Kylie Kaihara, Devin King, Sean Klink, Thomas McCoy, Maleek Mitchell, Farida Mohammed, Steven Murphy, Dana Pfeiff, Zachary Platt, Brenda Saldivar, Andrew Selep, Nathan Smolczyk, Donald Sparks, TaShea' Tinglin, Neriangela Velez, Nhung Vhu, Marquis Williams, Tyler Wilson

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the ceremony for?

The 2017 Highlander Leadership Awards Ceremony recognizes and honors students, student organizations and organization advisors in the area of leadership and involvement on campus. It is also the ceremony where the newly elected officers of ASMC are inaugurated.

Are self-nominations will be accepted?

Yes, self-nominations will be accepted.

What day is the Ceremony?

Wednesday, April 26th, 2017

What time does the ceremony begin?


Who can attend the ceremony?

Students, faculty, or staff members nominated can attend, as well as the individuals who nominate.

What should I wear?

The dress is business casual.

Where will the ceremony take place?

Stockdale Center, Highlander Room

How long will the ceremony run?

Approximately an hour and a half

When is the RSVP deadline?

Please RSVP by April 5th to the Wackerle Career and Leadership Center

Will dinner be provided at this event?

Dinner will be served as well as dessert and beverages

Does it cost money to attend?


Why should I attend the ceremony?

Attending the ceremony will allow you the opportunity to learn about other students and student organizations participation and their effect on the Monmouth College campus.

I was nominated, what do I have to do now?

You will be sent an invitation to the ceremony in the mail. Please make sure that you RSVP by April 5th to let us know if you are attending.

Contact Us

Jacob McLean '15
Assistant Director of Leadership Development